NaNoWriMo

Just to give you a heads up, I’m actually not going to be talking about Japan for once!  This entry will be focusing on the writer side of me, my works, and what I plan on doing next month.

Well, it’s that time again. November is National Novel Writing Month and once again, I will be participating in it.  For those not aware of the event, National Novel Writing Month (or NaNoWriMo for short) takes place the entire month of November in which people aim to write 50,000 words by the end of the month.   I participated for the first time last year and managed to reach the goal!  50,000 words looks daunting at first but the trick (for me, at least) is to write something every day as opposed to just writing a lot on the weekends.  The focus that year was my first novel that I started years ago:  Loveless.  I wrote a nice chunk of it during high school but by the time I was in college, I didn’t spend any time on it at all.  Worried that I had lost my touch, I entered NaNoWriMo to see if I could get at least some work done on it.  I ended up completing it, which shocked me.  My desire to write wasn’t gone at all, just dormant and this had proven it.

Those who may be familiar with NaNoWriMo may ask, “So you already started on it beforehand?  That’s not really fair compared to the people who start from scratch for November.”  That’s true.  I’ll admit, I unofficially participated in NaNoWriMo because according to the rules, you have to start from scratch and not have anything written beforehand.  As a result, I don’t upload my stuff on the website but just keep track of how many words I had written every day last year as well as how many hours I spent when writing.

This year I will also be breaking that rule because I will be focusing on my novella.  A novella is basically a short novel; around 200 pages or so.  Around spring of 2010 I was inspired to start a story revolving around nostalgia and trying to catch the “one that got away”.  I will admit, I do borrow a lot of my past memories and events into the story but I don’t play it out the same way and make a lot of creative changes.  I guess once again I am focusing on romance…what can I say?  I’m a romantic at heart.  Anyways, the novella is called “Seven Days” and each chapter (besides the prologue) focuses on one day.  I’ve already written the prologue and one chapter/day so I already have a good start on the story.  50,000 words may or may not be enough to complete it but in case it’s not, I will simply start the second novel of Loveless.  Seven Days might be what I’m focusing right now but Loveless is my pride and joy; it’s something that will probably be 4-5 books long.  Seeing that I’ve only written one, you can say that it will take awhile for me to finish it 🙂

Needless to say, November is going to be a really busy month for me.  Not only will I be doing my normal stuff like lesson planning, going to social events and exercising, but I also now have this on my plate!  As an added “bonus”, I have to really study this month in preparation for the JLPT (Japanese Language Proficiency Test) that takes place in early December.  I haven’t really studied much so if I want to pass it, I really have to go all out.  I have a feeling that the blog will be taking a hit as a result; entries will either be a lot shorter and/or there won’t be as many.  Then again, you never know but I figured I would let my readers know.  I suppose I’m trying to make up for that by posting a lot of entries now!

As usual, my approach will be to get some work done on “Seven Days”, not finish it.  I think if I worry too much about reaching the word count in time, it will only hurt me.  Last year I had the mindset of just getting something done and I managed to reach over 52,000 words in 28 days!  Once I’m in the zone, I can write an endless amount in a short period of time.  We’ll see how it goes.

I leave you with last year’s progression of NaNoWriMo.  I hope to produce similar results.  Either way though, it’s going to be a lot of fun.   Here goes nothing!

NaNoWriMo 2010

Day 1: 1730 words (2 hours)

Day 2: 1361 words (1 hour)

Day 3: 1445 words (1 hour)

Day 4: 1412 words (1 hour)

Day 5: 0 words

Day 6: 1391 words

Day 7: 2654 words (2 hours)

Day 8: 1670 words (1.5 hours)

Day 9: 1763 words (1.5 hours)

Day 10: 1254 words  (1 hour)

Day 11: 351 words

Day 12: 0 words

Day 13: 2635 words (2 hours)

Day 14: 2149 words (2 hours)

Day 15: 2157 words (2.5 hours?)

Day 16: 2022 words (1.5 hours)

Day 17: 2042 words (1.5 hours)

Day 18: 1750 words (1 hour)

Day 19: 2529 words (1.5 hours)

Day 20: 2502 words (2 hours)

Day 21: 2541 words (2 hours)

Day 22: 1400 words (1 hour)

Day 23: 1307 words (1 hour)

Day 24: 1118 (1 hour)

Day 25: 2560 words (2 hours)

Day 26: 2541 words (1.5 hours)

Day 27: 2578 words (2.5 hours)

Day 28: 6114 words (4.5 hours)

Total: 52,976 words

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

