Kiyomizu Temple

Besides studying for the JLPT and NaNoWrIMo, I did a few things in November.  Now it’s time to catch up!

One of the more memorable things I did last month was going to Kyoto again with Emily.  I wanted to go  because the leaves were finally starting to change; they don’t start changing until mid-late November here, which still boggles my mind.  Watching the leaves is quite a popular thing to do in Japan, especially over in Kyoto.  In can get very crowded.  Despite that, we both headed to Kiyomizu Temple, a famous Buddhist temple.  This time I took a nicer train over there and was surprised that I got there within an hour.  I’m lucky to have such a scenic and historic place nearby!  As expected, it was pretty crowded in Kyoto.  It took awhile just to get to the temple.  Nevertheless the wait was worth it.  Here are a few pictures of the temple:

 

 

 

 

 

After wandering around the temple, we walked around the neighborhood.  There was a nearby graveyard that was huge, yet pretty:

 

Here was a building that was by the graveyard:

We walked some more until we ran into more temples and shrines.  They’re so common in Kyoto that I doubt that I would ever get to see all of them, no matter how many times I visited:

 

 

After we finished exploring, the sun was already setting.  I’m still not using to watching it go down at around 4:30-5.  I do love the sky over here in Japan though; it’s always gorgeous.  I don’t know how many times I have taken a picture of it but it never gets old.  Here’s a picture of the sky as we crossed a bridge:

Afterward, we decided to grab a quick dinner and head home.  It was a fun, scenic day trip.  I’m sure I’ll be back again soon.

2 responses to “Kiyomizu Temple

  1. Pingback: Odds and Ends Trips | The Space Between Two Worlds

  2. Pingback: Golden Week | The Space Between Two Worlds

Leave a Reply

