Heartbroken?

The rain continued on this week.  Classes in my Wednesday school were going smoothly until around lunchtime.  I was talking to my students about suspicious people in America with Aiko-sensei.  I started talking to another kid until Aiko-sensei with a bunch of girls came up to me. Aiko-sensei proceeded to ask me a bizarre question:

“Diego, how do you say l;ajgjagiwj?”

“??? I don’t understand.”

“Ummm….*in broken English*  I love you!  No!  What does that mean?”

“Oh…to reject someone?”

“Reject? Okay!”

Just then, Hiro walks up to us.  Aiko-sensei and the girls are nodding at me energetically.  She then asks Hiro to repeat what he told her earlier.  Hiro, not missing a beat, repeats the three words:

“I love you!”

“No, I don’t love you! REJECTED!”

All the girls laugh and Aiko-sensei laugh.  Hiro’s head sunk and he dramatically leaves the room.  I laugh as well because I’m thinking that he’s just acting out something again.  However, he doesn’t come back until cleaning time.  He quickly comes into the room, grabs a rag and darts off again.

“Is he mad?” “He’s really mad!” The girls were gossiping to each other.  That’s when my heart sunk.

He really meant it.  He was actually confessing to her and I indirectly embarrassed him in front of the entire class!  Feeling terrible, I ran out to the hallways and spotted him sadly cleaning the floors.  I kneeled down and patted him on the shoulder.

“Hey, Hiro…it’ll be okay.”

Hiro nods at me slowly without looking at me in the eye.  This only made me feel worse. I decided to leave him alone as he clearly didn’t want to go back to the classroom.  It’s amazing how brave some kids are over here.  There’s no way in hell I would confess my love to my teacher in front of the classroom.  I feel like I have to make it up to him, even though it wasn’t my fault.  Hell, the kid is braver than I am; I still have problems telling girls I like them, in front of no one!  Maybe I’ll tell him I’ll do something as risky and fess up to some girl whenever it happens.  Or do something.  I don’t know.  He’s my favorite kid and he’s always so energetic that I forget that children’s hearts are extremely sensitive.  I walked back to the classroom around recess time and noticed him chuckling a bit and smiling once in awhile with his classmates, although I could tell he wasn’t being his usual self.  By the time I check up on him during 6th period, he’s back to being cheerful!  It’s never a dull moment in school…

One response to “Heartbroken?

  1. Pingback: Class Atmospheres and Fishman’s Shocking Discovery | The Space Between Two Worlds

Leave a Reply

