South Korea

I went to South Korea at the very beginning of April to conclude my spring break.  It was a lot of fun but oddly I don’t have much to talk about.  We stayed in Seoul at some cheap hotel.  We’re thinking it was a love hotel in the past because it was a bit small and the walls are paper thin.  We heard loud sex at least once during our trip but it only lasted a couple of minutes, haha. Overall, it was a good hotel though.  Anyways…

This was my first time visiting a country in which I understood nothing of the language.  I took Korean for a semester in college but I quickly forgot it all.  According to Judith, the citizens here knew more English than the Japanese do.  It was still stressful regardless and if anything, it made me respect Judith more since she came to Japan with no knowledge of the language.

Seoul is a huge city.  If you want to shop for cheap and eat a ton of food, you’ve come to the right place.  I was really surprised to see so many American franchises that weren’t in Japan like Taco Bell, Quizno’s, Papa John’s, etc.  I honestly don’t miss most of the food but my fellow travelers felt otherwise. I’m pretty sure we ate American food for half the trip.  That’s okay though, I really hate spicy food and whenever we ate Korean, I was always drinking water!

Seoul has a ton of funny Engrish signs, even more than in Japan.  Half of my photos were from hilarious signs I came across:

Restaurant names are super blunt here too when it comes to English:

I really like the bars in Seoul.  Apparently, self serve bars are becoming a thing here.  The one we went to had a bunch of comfy sofas and a fridge full of different, imported beers.  They were so cheap too!  My favorite bar was Vinyl though.  Here’s the outside:

You basically get cocktails inside a Ziploc bag.  It sounds bizarre, but it’s delicious:

During our stay we bought tickets to this famous cooking performance called Nanta:

Basically Nanta has a group of chefs that perform crazy tricks while they cook food.  The tricks themselves are really cool but the comedy was a bit too cheesy for my tastes.  Also it has audience participation.  Man, I hate audience participation.  Luckily I wasn’t selected for it.

We visited the Korean War Memorial Museum.  It was really cool because it featured a lot of military vehicles and statues outside:

 

 

 

 

We took our fair share of silly pictures as well:

The last highlight of the trip was visiting Changdeokgung Palace and Bukchon Hanok Villiage. The palace is a World Heritage site and extremely big.  Here are some pictures:

 

 

Bukchon is basically a town that’s by the palace.  What’s cool about it though is that they have a lot of traditional houses mixed with more modern ones.  It’s a mix between the new and the old:

 

 

Besides visiting these sites, we basically just ate, shopped and drank to our heart’s content.  I even saw an old college friend that showed us around.  The trip was too short—we were only there for 4 days.  However, because it’s so cheap and the flight there is as well, I can see myself going there again.  We definitely didn’t get to check out everything we saw so I have an excuse to return.

One response to “South Korea

  1. Pingback: Spring Breaking in Hong Kong: In the City | The Space Between Two Worlds

Leave a Reply

