Nipponbashi/Den Den Town Cosplay Festival ’13!

March 24th was the 9th annual Nipponbashi Street Festa.  Nipponbashi, more known for its name “Den Den Town”, has a cosplay festival every year.  Tons of people come out cosplaying from various anime shows/games.  Just like last year, I had a blast.  My friend Chad definitely made things a lot more interesting because he wasn’t afraid to approach anyone for a photo.  He had a lot of silly ways to ask for one as well.  He also made hilarious faces to every photo I took of him in.

Here are just a few photos to show you what it was like this year.

Jojo's Bizarre Adventure!

Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure!

Creepy Woody making a shocking appearance.

Creepy Woody making a shocking appearance.

One of my faves. This guy is featured in anti-movie recording PAs before a movie begins in Japan.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lhxgo_6P1aw

One of my faves. This guy is featured in anti-movie recording PAs before a movie begins in Japan. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lhxgo_6P1aw

IMG_0980 IMG_0978

Yuna getting a lot of attention.

Yuna getting a lot of attention.

An example of Chad's many awful faces that make me burst into laughter.

An example of Chad’s many awful faces that make me burst into laughter.

A sneak peek at how crazy it can get when a cute girl is spotted.

A sneak peek at how crazy it can get when a cute girl is spotted.

There were a lot of military enthusiasts out that day.

There were a lot of military enthusiasts out that day.

Ghillie suits make their return!

Ghillie suits make their return!

Pikachu lamenting the death of Satoshi/Ash.

Pikachu lamenting the death of Satoshi/Ash.

IMG_0939

I can't help but laugh every time I see this.

I can’t help but laugh every time I see this.

Bomberman crew!

Bomberman crew!

Hunk from Resident Evil.  He was pretty awesome.

Hunk from Resident Evil. He was pretty awesome.

Someone loves Hatsune Miku a bit too much.

Someone loves Hatsune Miku a bit too much.

Yay for obscure anime cosplay!  I love Patlabor.

Yay for obscure anime cosplay! I love Patlabor.

IMG_0910 IMG_0897

ZA WARUDO

ZA WARUDO

It was like this times 50.

It was like this times 50.

I swear there were a lot more people compared to last year. In the previous year I was able to go through the streets twice but I just barely made one loop around before the event was over.  If I didn’t remember about this event last minute, I totally would’ve gone as something.  Perhaps as Jigen? Oh well there’s always next year!

3 responses to “Nipponbashi/Den Den Town Cosplay Festival ’13!

Leave a Reply

