Graduation: Part 2

Just like last year, I went to my Wednesday school for graduation.  It wasn’t an easy choice; I also really want to go to my Friday school’s graduation. However, I really wanted to see the first batch of kids that I really got close to before they left school for good.

My final lunch with them was just like another other lunch.  I somehow ended up sitting next to the table full of girls—Isa, Momo and Yuki.  “Aren’t you lucky, Diego?  Sitting next to a group of beautiful girls,” Isa teased.  The conversation somehow ended being focused on picking a nickname for Yuki.

“I think Yucchin is a cute nickname!” Isa said.

“Yucchin? That’s awful.” Yuki replied.

“I think it’s a wonderful nickname,” I teased.

“What?? Why don’t we make you a nickname?? Like D-chan?” Yuki countered.

“Only if you’re Yucchin.” I was going to miss these silly conversations.  I wanted to take a picture of the whole group but Kimoto-sensei managed to forget.  And yet, he had enough time to fool around with my camera and take pictures of us eating lunch:

 

Mimi being a good sport.  Funny how Ryu is getting messed with in the background.

Mimi being a good sport. Funny how Ryu is getting messed with in the background.

Question Man in the flesh.

Question Man in the flesh.

The actual day of graduation was bittersweet as expected.  I was surprised no one cried though!  Last year my 6th grader were bawling like crazy.

After the ceremony, we all saw them off.  Then the request for pictures came.  Unlike in junior high though, the parents are usually all over their kids, taking various pictures so asking them to take a picture with me was difficult.  I did manage to take a few though:

 

Kimoto-sensei getting flowers from everyone at the end.

Kimoto-sensei getting flowers from everyone at the end.

They're growing up so fast!

They’re growing up so fast!

Ryuga made this face in every photo, haha.

Ryuga made this face in every photo, haha.

I'm going to really miss this class.  At least I'll see half of them this month!

I’m going to really miss this class. At least I’ll see half of them this month!

This week the new school year truly starts.  Half of my 6th graders will be coming to my junior high while the other half will be off to another school.  This class taught me to be less tense in my classes and to not be afraid to interact with my students.  They have definitely influenced me to have a more laid-back environment when I teach and it has affected my other lessons at my other schools for the better.  And for that, I thank them.

One response to “Graduation: Part 2

  1. Pingback: I Choose You, Junior High! | The Space Between Two Worlds

Leave a Reply

