Kobe

One of the things I am ashamed to admit is that I have lived in Japan for nearly two years and I still hadn’t paid a visit to Kobe.  Kobe is merely an hour or so away so there really isn’t an excuse.  Luckily during Golden Week my friend offered me to show me around!

Our first stop was to eat some lunch in Chinatown.  I have been hearing nonstop good things about Chinatown’s food quality and I’m happy to report that they are all true!  I would like to spend more time in Chinatown next time but since we were doing a little bit of everything that day, we only briefly checked it out:

 

IMG_2081

IMG_2084

 

IMG_2086

Next we went to Harborland, where the famous Kobe Tower is located. On a whim we decided to go on a boat ride.  The weather was perfect for it making the 45-minute ride a very relaxing trip.  We even got to wear the captain’s hat:

 

IMG_2115

IMG_2118

IMG_2121

 

Yep.

Yep.

The weather was perfect.

The weather was perfect.

Our boat: Fantasy!

Our boat: Fantasy!

Included with our boat ride was free admission to Kobe Tower.  The view from the top was really nice, and there were also see-through floors so you could see how far you were up.  We took a break at the café in which the entire area slowly goes in a circle so you can enjoy a 360 view of the top while drinking some coffee.

 

Yay Kobe Tower!

Yay Kobe Tower!

IMG_2151

 

 

Views from the top.

Views from the top.

IMG_2159

IMG_2165

IMG_2167

Pretty high up.

Pretty high up.

A nifty figurine at the cafe.

A nifty figurine at the cafe.

Afterwards we headed out do a little shopping with a light dinner before we headed back home.  Kobe is a nice little city.  I know I barely scratched the surface in terms of things to do there and that’s okay with me.  It merits multiple visits and I look forward to going back there again someday.

The cafe had a nice boat model.  The more I think about it, the more I liked the cafe!

The cafe had a nice boat model. The more I think about it, the more I liked the cafe!

One response to “Kobe

  1. Pingback: Spring Breaking in Japan: Kansai | The Space Between Two Worlds

Leave a Reply

