Undoukai 2013

This year, my Monday/Tuesday’s elementary school moved up their undoukai, aka sports day, to the first semester of the school year in an attempt to prevent kids from getting heat exhaustion.  Usually this event occurs in the second semester, around September where summer is still lingering in Japan.  Unfortunately it was a very hot June day when we hosted it so there was almost no difference!

Unlike the past two years, I actually stuck around for the entire time.  The reason was because I had another ALT that came with me so I had some English company.  She’s in charge of the fifth graders, the kids I really wanted to teach this year but alas, I’m stuck with the sixth graders.  The undoukai itself was pretty fun as usual—it was fun to see the little kids try to throw balls into the basket and the older kids do silly relay races.  Of course, my favorite event is the one where students make a walking pyramid and try to remove the opposing team’s hat from the kid on the top:

 

This event is always dramatic towards the end.

This event is always dramatic towards the end.

The opposing leaders meet and..

The opposing leaders meet and..

...battle to the death!  Or for a hat.

…battle to the death! Or for a hat.

The cute first graders trying to throw as many balls in the net.

The cute first graders trying to throw as many balls in the net.

The fifth graders had an awesome dance!

The fifth graders had an awesome dance!

IMG_2220

They really did a good job.

They really did a good job.

Relay race!

Relay race!

The human pyramid, the undokai's finale performed by the 6th graders will always impress me.

The human pyramid, the undokai’s finale performed by the 6th graders will always impress me.

The most surprising thing this year was running into my former sixth graders from last year.  Most of them went to the nearby junior high school, which my friend ALT also teaches at.  Since she mostly teaches 1st years there, they are very familiar with her.  It was a lot of fun to catch up with them but I’m still weirded out to see them with iPhones!  Mellow Man was definitely the most interesting character of the day; while I already knew that we were chums, I had no idea he liked me a lot.  He hung around us the majority of the day and even gave me a back rub towards the end.  At this point, nothing surprises me anymore.  I’m glad to hear that everyone is doing well and I hope I can see them again someday!

Hiroki from last year makes a special appearance!  Glad he's doing well.

Hiroki from last year makes a special appearance! Glad he’s doing well.

I haven't seen this girl for a year!  She stopped coming to school for some reason but I'm glad she seems to be doing good in junior high now.

I haven’t seen this girl for a year! She stopped coming to school for some reason but I’m glad she seems to be doing good in junior high now.

Spectating.

Spectating.

Mellow Man being mellow as always.

Mellow Man being mellow as always.

I'm glad I got to see him and a lot of my former students that day!

I’m glad I got to see him and a lot of my former students that day!

One response to “Undoukai 2013

  1. Pingback: One last sports festival for 2013 | The Space Between Two Worlds

Leave a Reply

