Summer in Hokkaido: Otaru and the JR Tower

The next day of my Hokkaido summer trip was fairly mellow.  I was planning on do a lot of things on the second day but because it was going to rain the entire day, I decided to adjust my schedule a little bit.  I headed to Otaru in the morning as the rain wasn’t going to hit there.

Otaru is a little city northwest of Sapporo and only a train ride away. The train ride itself is beautiful because you get to see the ocean right outside the window for nearly the entire ride.  Otaru is a peaceful area and famous for its canals and sushi.  The canals were nice to walk around but if you’ve been to canals before, this one isn’t particularly special.  It is a different change of pace of what you usually see in Japan though:

IMG_3036

Great little sketch of the area.

Great little sketch of the area.

IMG_3042

I wandered a bit further into the docks and saw this cool boat docked in:

IMG_3046

At this point of the day I was starving.  I decided to go to Sushi Street, a famous area known for a plethora of sushi restaurants in one little area.  After checking out the prices, I opted out because it was very expensive.  I was willing to dump some money but I wasn’t willing to pay 50 dollars for 6 pieces of sushi!  I decided to go to a cheaper sushi place and I could still tell the difference from a sushi place back home (in Osaka).  It was really good!

By the time I got back to Sapporo, it was raining so I figured this was a good time as any to check out the JR Observation Tower.  The tower itself is in the JR Sapporo station so it’s a pretty easy place to get to.  It’s just like your average observation tower except it’s more relaxing.  There are couches and chairs for you to sit down and just enjoy the view of the city.  It was pretty empty during the day but I really enjoyed it; it was a good way to kill time while it was raining.  There is one unique thing about the tower though—in the men’s bathroom, you can still get a bird’s eye view of the city!  It feels pretty awesome to be taking a piss and enjoying the view at the same time:

IMG_3049

The TV Tower always makes an appearance!

The TV Tower always makes an appearance!

IMG_3057

IMG_3060

Now you can take a piss with a view, thanks to the JR Tower.

Now you can take a piss with a view, thanks to the JR Tower.

It was around dinner time by the time I got out of there.   My friend recommended me to go to Otaru Beer—a restaurant that serves delicious beer and pretty good food as well.  Unfortunately I couldn’t go to the original location in Otaru because it didn’t open until the evening.  However, recently, a new one opened in Sapporo so I was in luck.  The beer itself was great and not too pricey!  I got part of a rotisserie chicken which was delicious.  The waiter was a bit odd though.  When I first came in, he acted like I was lost or something.  He kept staring at me and didn’t bother helping me until I said “Uh, can I get seated?”  I’m not sure what was his problem but whatever.

After dinner I headed back to the hotel and just relaxed.  I noticed my hotel also has a manga based on it.  Oh, Japan.  I went to bed early because I had a looong day ahead of me the next day.

Walking down the streets at night was a lot of fun.

Walking down the streets at night was a lot of fun.

Night life.

Night life.

One response to “Summer in Hokkaido: Otaru and the JR Tower

  1. Pingback: To Nagoya: Around the city and Nagoya Castle | The Space Between Two Worlds

Leave a Reply

