Unleashing the fangirls.

Junior high, never boring!

Recently I haven’t been able to go to the library since I had to train my students for the upcoming skit contest.  The last time I went over there though, I saw Maido, Ina and Reno just relaxing by a table.  It was very odd not to have anyone else present.  So, I did my own thing and started reading a book.  Of course, it didn’t take too long for them to start talking to me:

Ina: Oh Diego?  What are you reading?

Me: Me? Just Vader and Me.

Ina just looks at me for a minute while I’m reading and says “Diego is too cute.”  I can’t tell if that’s a good thing or bad thing. After that we had a nice little chat about my weekend plans, Halloween and other random things.  It was very nice to just sit down and talk them as I never get a chance nowadays.  When the librarian, Miss Harada, asked me what I think of them, I just say “Oh I love this combination of girls!” Reno just yelled out “YAY!”  Then she proceeded to pretend to trick or treat while I gestured giving her candy.  I’m really going to miss them when they leave.

Another nice anecdote was when I was playing a sentence unscrambling game with my third years.  It’s a fairly simple game:  I have sentences cut out and give them to each group.  The sentences are jumbled so the students simply have to arrange them in order, write it down and put it on the blackboard.  You’re racing against other groups so the faster you do it, the more points you get.  They were really enjoying themselves.  For kicks, I had the last sentence involve Japanese celebrities.  I usually do this but I was specific this time around and wrote Sho Sakurai (from Arashi fame) down.  The sentence was:

“My ideal boyfriend is someone who looks like Sho Sakurai from Arashi.”  I wanted to see if I could get a reaction from them, the girls at the very least.

I was in for a surprise.  Almost all the girls start screaming when they saw the scrambled words.   Mao in particular was freaking out, as if Sho Sakurai himself was there, swooning them with English words alongside me.  Throughout the entire time they were unscrambling they were squealing like junior high school gir-oh wait, they are that.  Even Bookworm Girl, the girl that never talks to me or never smiles was excitedly hopping on her chair, looking so happy.  It was like I had unleashed some fan beast that had been slumbering for decades.  Needless to say, competition was fierce as everyone was trying to post that sentence on the board as fast as possible.   When I was reviewing each sentence on the board, there was harsh criticism from all teams.  The one that got the answer right only managed to scribble “from Arashi”.

Ina was yelling “That doesn’t count! That isn’t clear enough!” I honestly forgot who won that round but it was great.

Here are some of the sentences the kids had to unscramble.  By the third question, everyone was doodling things around the answer or writing messages to people as I would read them.  Half of them were flirty like “Maido is way too cute” and “Ryoma is so cooool!”  My favorite one was from Mao though.

The Japanese above the sentence says one of my students is super cute.  Thus began the flirting.

The Japanese above the sentence says one of my students is too cute. Thus began the flirting.

The now infamous Arashi example.  Above the sentence, Mao wrote: ‘I REALLY WANT THIS TO BE TRUE!!!’

The now infamous Arashi example. Above the sentence, Mao wrote: ‘I REALLY WANT THIS TO BE TRUE!!!’

Leave a Reply

