Summer in Hokkaido: Mt. Moiwa

As much as I wanted to rest after spending the entire morning and afternoon in Biei and Furano, I had to keep pressing on as it was my last full day in Hokkaido.  One thing I had been meaning to go this entire time but couldn’t until now (due to time conflicts and bad weather) was Mt. Moiwa.  Mt. Moiwa stands 531 meters tall and gives you an excellent panoramic view of Sapporo at the summit.  I, being a sucker for observatory decks, was looking forward to seeing it during the night.

It did not disappoint.  The ropeway ride itself is very nice as you get inside a giant cart with giant windows that slowly lead you to the top.  It’s really dark at first but the higher you go up, the more lights you will see begin to surface from the city.  By the time you get to the top, you are surrounded by the night lights of Sapporo.

The observatory deck is great because you get 360 degree access to the entire view.  Not only that, there is no glass that gets in your way from taking beautiful pictures.  I was literally enjoying the view for at least an hour and a half.  If you like observatory decks, then I highly recommend Mount Moiwa.  Apparently you can ski there during the winter too!

These pictures do it no justice:

 

On the way up.

On the way up.

IMG_3236

IMG_3244

IMG_3249

IMG_3256

IMG_3261

I want to go back soon.

I want to go back soon.

After that, I headed back to Sapporo for some dinner and passed out in the hotel.  It was an extremely long day but a great way to concluce my trip to Hokkaido.  I really want to go back in the summer and continue exploring; I only managed to see a fraction of the things I wanted to check out.  But for now, I have to figure out where I want to go to next!

One response to “Summer in Hokkaido: Mt. Moiwa

  1. Pingback: Attending a Hanshin Tigers game | The Space Between Two Worlds

Leave a Reply

