School Game Festival

Every December my Monday/Tuesday school has a little festival.  Grades are split into a group (that have kids of all ages) and are in charge of one classroom.  Each classroom makes their own game for other students to attend.  So for half the school day kids enjoy visiting classrooms to play a bunch of different games.  There are two blocks so that kids that are running the games are able to enjoy being a spectator as well.

This is probably one of my favorite days of the year because as I previously mentioned last year, this is the closest thing as I’ll get to attending a cultural festival, which has a similar setup except they take place in junior high/high schools.

Once again I toured the school and played a bunch of games that were ran by the children.  There were a lot of games that were featured last year (like the rubber band shooting game and balloon volleyball game) but there were a lot of new games as well.  One of them was a human sized board game which included rolling a gigantic die.  I took several pictures of each place.

Volleyball.

Volleyball.

I was suckered into playing this last year.  Never again, it's impossible to crawl through as an adult.

I was suckered into playing this last year. Never again, it’s impossible to crawl through as an adult.

Bowling!

Bowling!

The human board game with die included.

The human board game with die included.

PK shootout for points.

PK shootout for points.

The coin drop game:  you have to drop coins into a cup that you can't see.  I actually like this game a lot.

The coin drop game: you have to drop coins into a cup that you can’t see. I actually like this game a lot.

I accidentally kept following Nishikawa-sensei and we ended up in a “3 Games in One” area.  The first game was timing how fast you can pick up tiny beans into a container with chopsticks.  I’m really bad at these games but Nishikawa-sensei and another teacher cheered me on regardless.  The next game Nishikawa-sensei played was arm wrestling.  He went against the toughest kid and of course beat him in a split second:

 

This is actually pretty difficult.

This is actually pretty difficult.

I just realized one of my kids was posing in this photo.

I just realized one of my kids was posing in this photo.

I played some other games too and managed to get on some top ranking boards:

 

First in the rubber band rifle range!

First in the rubber band rifle range!

2nd in Ring Toss!

2nd in Ring Toss!

Second in the coin drop game.  I love how they design the blackboards too!

Second in the coin drop game. I love how they design the blackboards too!

I think the most favorite thing of this day are the kids in charge of advertising.  Basically you will see kids wearing signs and yelling at everyone to come to their classroom.  Some kids are really good at advertising their place.  It’s really cute when they get all excited when you say you’ll come or they say things like “You promised. You have to go to our classroom.”

Unlike last year I was healthy so I had a lot more fun that day. I can’t wait for the next one next year!

Leave a Reply

