One last sports festival for 2013

After checking my camera, I totally forgot to write about the sports festival that occurred back in September.  I did go to one back in June, but I usually make sure I go to my Wednesday’s school’s one, which takes place in the fall.  Unfortunately it got rained out two days in a row, changing the date from Saturday to a Thursday.  Luckily since my Wednesday school shares their event with my junior high (they’re nearby and most students go there after they graduate), I could still attend.

The lame part was that since the event was moved to a school day, former teachers and students were unable to attend the event.  It sucked because my favorite teacher that transferred, Kimoto-sensei, could no longer come.  I’m sure some former third years would’ve come too but now I missed a chance to see them all.  You could tell some of the students were bummed out from this but we still had a sports festival to do.

One thing that was great was the weather.  It was a beautiful, sunny day out.  There were also some new games that were featured this year.  The one that got everyone’s attention was an event where students had to race to form a pole and the leader had to climb it as fast as they could to win.

Once again, I was told to participate in the staff/student bunny hop dance.  As soon as I jumped in, all of my second year boys got excited and joined me.  The point of the dance is similar to a congo line except you’re doing bunny hops.  Anyways, by the end, I had all of the second year boys and instead of having a line, we just had a giant circle that were doing the dance in a circular fashion.  Everyone was watching us saying stuff like “What the heck are they doing?” or “Why are they going in a circle??”  It was pretty funny.

Here are some pictures of the event:

 

Balancing a huge ball with two sticks isn't exactly easy.

Balancing a huge ball with two sticks isn’t exactly easy.

IMG_3304

A version of tug of war where you are supposed to collect as many big poles as you can, while preventing the other team to do the same!

A version of tug of war where you are supposed to collect as many big poles as you can, while preventing the other team to do the same!

IMG_3312

It wouldn't be a sports festival without some racing.

It wouldn’t be a sports festival without some racing.

The final score.

The final score.

This year’s sports festival was my third years final one.  It’s sad to think about but they really went out when it came to their dance.  I wonder how next year’s will turn out

Leave a Reply

