Nipponbashi Cosplay Street Festa ’14 (Photo Heavy)

Osaka’s cosplay festival, named the “Nipponbashi Street Festa” took place on March 21st this year.  The festival itself takes place in Nipponbashi, or “Den Den Town”, Osaka’s answer to Tokyo’s Akihabara. I specifically came back early from my Tokyo trip to attend.  While it got rained out towards the end, I got to see a lot of cool cosplay.  Here’s just a small sample:

Attack on Titan was popular this year.

Attack on Titan was popular this year.

IMG_3581

Can't forget about the classics though!

Can’t forget about the classics though!

IMG_3582

The Raiden cosplay was one of my favorites this year.

The Raiden cosplay was one of my favorites this year.

Char from Gundam rounding his Zeon troops.

Char from Gundam rounding his Zeon troops.

Ryuk from Death Note was very popular.

Ryuk from Death Note was very popular.

IMG_3615

The way he moved was so dead on!

The way he moved was so dead on!

Cardcaptor Sakura.

Cardcaptor Sakura.

IMG_3629

IMG_3632

Porco Rosso!

Porco Rosso!

Osaka from Azumanga Daioh!  In Osaka, of all places.

Osaka from Azumanga Daioh! In Osaka, of all places.

It wouldn't be a cosplay festival without some Cloud/Sephiroth battle.

It wouldn’t be a cosplay festival without some Cloud/Sephiroth battle.

The FF crew.

The FF crew.

FFX-2 Yuna.

FFX-2 Yuna.

One of my faves.  Chuck from Dead Rising 2!

One of my faves. Chuck from Dead Rising 2!

Western comics got some love too.

Western comics got some love too.

IMG_3666

KITT makes a triumphant return after a year absence.

KITT makes a triumphant return after a year absence.

The POV of a cosplayer at the event.  So many cameras!

The POV of a cosplayer at the event. So many cameras!

Of course, the cute girls in cosplay get surrounded by a horde of cameras.

Of course, the cute girls in cosplay get surrounded by a horde of cameras.

See?

See?

Of course, the crazy otaku cars were out as well:

IMG_3550

IMG_3553

What is up with that pipe?

What is up with that pipe?

My favorite.

My favorite.

Of course, Hatsune Miku had to make an appearance...

Of course, Hatsune Miku had to make an appearance…

JoJo! My second favorite.

JoJo! My second favorite.

 

I wish the weather was good all the way until the end but I suppose I’ll take what I can get since it was supposed to be raining all day that day.  I can’t wait until next year!  It just might be my last one 😦

One thing I won't miss:  the crazy crowds.

One thing I won’t miss: the crazy crowds.

Leave a Reply

