Spring Breaking in Hong Kong: In the City

Not too long after the Nipponbashi Street Festa, I was off to Hong Kong with a couple of my friends from the JET Programme.  It’s been a long time since I have done an overseas trip with friends, so I was pretty excited.  I really prefer to travel with someone as opposed to myself because I like to experience things with people rather than just myself.  Hong Kong is a place I have been meaning to go for awhile.  I honestly didn’t know what to expect besides a ton of good food, markets, and a crazy skyline.

It was pretty muggy when we arrived, something that felt nice since it was still chilly in Japan.  Our hostel was located by Jordan Station which is nearby Kowloon.

The scenery felt familiar and new at the same time compared to Japan.

The scenery felt familiar and new at the same time compared to Japan.

One thing that my friends took awhile to get adjusted to was the atmosphere.  Hong Kong is the complete opposite of Japan; people are not apologetic, they’re in a rush and not afraid to push ahead and you will get flagged down to buy something you don’t need aggressively.  Peru is a bit similar to Hong Kong (albeit probably a bit more polite) so it didn’t take me too long to get used to it.  It even felt nostalgic in a sense.

Our first day was pretty jam-packed since we arrived pretty early.  After checking in at our dinky hostel, we were off to explore the general area.  There were tall buildings everywhere and half of them were banks.  We went through various districts and a lot of them looked really fancy.  My favorite area was still the one at our place near Kowloon since it was very colorful and had plenty of food options.

We took a walk through the Avenue of Stars, which is Hong Kong’s version of the Hollywood Walk of Fame.  There were a ton of actors that I didn’t recognize except for the big ones like Jackie Chan and Jet Li . It was a pretty hazy day, whether it was from the pollution or the weather, I didn’t know.  It was blocking what would be a nice view of the city though.

So hazy…

So hazy…

A comparison to what it was like in the old days and today.

A comparison to what it was like in the old days and today.

Bruce Lee’s statue is the most famous landmark around here.  Getting non-crowded picture of it was impossible

Bruce Lee’s statue is the most famous landmark around here.  Getting non-crowded picture of it was impossible

During the evening we decided to check out the famous Peak, a high-altitude mountain area with a mall and observation deck to see the beautiful city of Hong Kong below.  This was one of the things I wanted to do the most since I have heard it has a gorgeous view.  We decided to ride the tram because we heard it was an unforgettable experience.

Except that it was.  It was completely forgettable.  First the line for it takes at least thirty minutes to buy your purchase and get on.  When you do get on, you are only on there for a few minutes.  Since the track is slanted, you are looking at everything diagonally which messes with your eyes after awhile.  Of course, you’ll be lucky to see something; seats fill up fast and we only managed to be in the middle of the aisle.

We're finally about to get on!

We’re finally about to get on!

The worst part was that it was completely foggy.  I should’ve known this would’ve happened after checking out the Avenue of the Stars but we decided to press on because the chances or rain in the following days was high.   We caught very little on the way up but the observation deck was probably the worst part of the day.

You couldn’t see anything.  The entire city was completely covered in fog and left me and my friends really angry and disappointed.

Yep.  That’s the view.

Yep.  That’s the view.

Sigh.

Sigh.

Hey I think I see some lights!  I wish.

Hey I think I see some lights!  I wish.

Yeah, fuck that place.

Yeah, fuck that place.

We were unlucky but still, I wish they would warn you about it.  It was by far the most disappointing event of the whole trip.  I’m sure it looks great on a clear night but we never had that chance.  Defeated, we went back to the mall area and got some Hong Kong milk tea which was really good.  I could definitely get on board in drinking it everyday.

It’s pretty strong though.

It’s pretty strong though.

After that we went back to Kowloon and walked around some more.  It looks cooler at night:

 

IMG_3799

IMG_3801

And that was our first day in Hong Kong.  So exhausting!  But we got a lot done.  Still, we had four more days to go!

One response to “Spring Breaking in Hong Kong: In the City

  1. Pingback: Spring Breaking in Hong Kong: Tian Tan Buddha | The Space Between Two Worlds

Leave a Reply

