Another Sports Festival…

Back in September my Wednesday and junior high school had their combined sports festival.  It has been one of the events I have been going every year since I came here.  I always have a lot of good memories from them and this year wasn’t any different.

First of all I saw a few people I haven’t seen in awhile.  I ran into my former vice principal as I took the bus and we caught up on how our lives were doing.  I really miss him, he was such a crazy, friendly guy that always bumped up work parties to 200%.  My new VP is nice and friendly but it isn’t the same so it was nice to see him again.

When I got to the school grounds I ran into Kaho, a girl I taught way back in the day.  She’s doing fine as usual and I always enjoyed talking to her.  She likes my junior high’s VP so they chatted quite a bit.  I took a cute picture of the two:

IMG_4891

She hung around him for awhile.

 

I also saw some other former students like Ootsuka and former elementary students.  It was nice to chat with them and see what has changed.  I even saw Sleepy and another student I taught when I first arrived in Japan.  They’re now 3rd years in high school and will be graduating in March.  It’s crazy to see that they’re almost full fledged adults!  I could barely recognize them.

The sports festival itself was fun to watch.  My third years always waved at me whenever they saw me.  I love those kids just as much as my third years from last year.  Here are some pictures of the whole event:

IMG_4901

The third years, always happy to see me 😀

 

IMG_4899

IMG_4903

IMG_4910

It’s always fun to see the junior high/elementary student interact with each other.

 

IMG_4916

Kyo and Tai representing the baseball team.

IMG_4917

The new volleyball club members! Luckily they got a bunch of them when the new first years rolled in.

IMG_4918

Nana-chan and I, along with her friends.

IMG_4919

IMG_4921

IMG_4926

Third years leading the volleyball club.

 

IMG_4927

The swimming club. Junya of course decided to go shirtless. Fun fact: he’s so good he’s in two clubs (hence the baseball cap).

IMG_4948

IMG_4951

IMG_4953

IMG_4955

IMG_4956

The third year’s rally competition.

 

IMG_4974

It’s their last sports festival 😦

 

IMG_4985

IMG_5001

IMG_5015

White team takes it this year!

 

Whether I will see another one of these is still up in the air.  However, if it was my last one, I’ll be happy with it.

One response to “Another Sports Festival…

  1. Pingback: One Last Sports Festival | The Space Between Two Worlds

Leave a Reply

