To Nagoya: Toyota Automobile Museum

As I mentioned, right before my birthday party I went on a little trip to Nagoya with a friend of mine.  I hadn’t gone on a trip in awhile so I wanted to sneak one in. Nagoya is only a few hours away by train so I figured it would be the perfect spot to quickly visit for a day.

We left at the crack of dawn to get to Nagoya as early as possible.  First we checked into our swanky hotel.  Since my idea to go to Nagoya was last minute, the cheap hotels were all booked but hey, the place was great (and not even too expensive).

IMG_5172

Our first stop for the day was the Toyota Automobile Museum.  I’m not a  big car junkie but I love checking out the models of various cars.  I suppose I get it from my friend Jesse, who would always give me detailed information of every car we ran into in my college days.  My last car museum was a great time so I figured this would be the same.

I wasn’t disappointed.  While not as interactive as the Mazda Museum in Hiroshima, Toyota trumps it with the amount of cars it has to display.  My favorite part was that it was not limited to Toyota models–in fact there were probably more models from different companies than Toyota’s!  It was all organized by time period so it was really cool to see how cars evolved over the years.

IMG_2720

IMG_2726

IMG_2732

IMG_2734

IMG_2738

IMG_2742

IMG_2750

IMG_2761

IMG_2772

IMG_2778

Can't  have a  Toyota museum without an AE86.

Can’t have a Toyota museum without an AE86.

If you like cars, I’d highly recommend going here.  You could probably take a nice chunk of your day admiring every model but alas, I had alot more stuff to do!

Bonus:  At the end there was a toy car model exhibiting scenes from the Tintin comics.  So good!

Bonus: At the end there was a toy car model exhibiting scenes from the Tintin comics. So good!

One response to “To Nagoya: Toyota Automobile Museum

  1. Pingback: To Nagoya: Around the city and Nagoya Castle | The Space Between Two Worlds

Leave a Reply

