One Last Halloween

Happy New Year!  Now let’s talk about Halloween.

2015 marked the final Halloween I would be celebrating in Osaka.  As usual, I was pretty clueless in what to be until the last minute.  I was “inspired” by seeing an amusing cosplay photo of Giorgio A. Tsoukalos, aka the “ALIENS meme guy”.  It was fairly simple to do and it had the humor I liked so I went with it.

If you don’t know this meme, then you’re probably less nerdy than I am.

If you don’t know this meme, then you’re probably less nerdy than I am.

This year Halloween landed on a Saturday which meant that craziness was to be had. And boy did it.  As usual, my friends and I decided to hit up the club where a lot of my expat friends were hanging out at.  I was surprised to see the club was completely packed to the point where I could not move at all.  Because my costume had a sign that was very easy to fall off and it was extremely hot, I did not stay for very long.  Still, for the very brief time I was there, I had fun and was surprised at the amount of love I got for my outfit.  Some people were demanding pictures from me over some of my friends who had more exquisite costumes.  It was very fun to see the amount of joy I gave to people by posing for their photos.  I guess I can see why people like to cosplay.

Aliens.

Aliens.

After our brief visit to the club, we headed to Triangle Park (the place where everyone hangs out if you aren’t clubbing) was packed to the point where I thought I hadn’t changed places at all.  It was pure insanity.  It’s amazing to see Halloween’s popularity explode throughout the years I have been here.  You could barely move through anything but that still didn’t stop me from having fun. Once again, I was getting stopped every once in awhile for a photo.  The person who took the prize though was my friend who was dressed up as Buddy Jesus.  He was stopped literally every five minutes to get a photo from someone.

Buddy Jesus.

Buddy Jesus.

This was just a small fraction of the people who were actually there.

This was just a small fraction of the people who were actually there.

I spent the rest of the night in Triangle Park.   It was so packed that I kept running into new people and costumes.  Here are some photos of my favorites.

It was only fitting to run into actual aliens.

It was only fitting to run into actual aliens.

IMG_7392

SO MANY KIKIS.

SO MANY KIKIS.

IMG_7416

My favorite costume of the year.  A whole gang of people dressed up as stations from my local subway line, the Midosuji!

My favorite costume of the year. A whole gang of people dressed up as stations from my local subway line, the Midosuji!

IMG_7433

Ran into this crossdresser who fittingly asked my friend, “Are you the prince I have been waiting for?”

Since I was going on a trip literally the day after, I decided to book a reservation at a capsule hotel because I was going to need some sleep to function the next day.  However I didn’t want to leave early so it came down to me crashing in the city.  It was also my first experience staying at a capsule hotel and the results were interesting.  Not the most comfortable place in the world but because it’s so cheap, I couldn’t complain.  Plus staying in a capsule hotel was something I had to do before I left Japan!

My capsule.  After staying out until 3 AM or so, it felt great to sleep on

My capsule.  After staying out until 3 AM or so, it felt great to sleep on

The layout was quite interesting.

The layout was quite interesting.

I would say I am pretty satisfied with my final Halloween in Japan.  I’m definitely going to miss it and I don’t think I’m really going to celebrate it to the levels people do it here.  It’s just not the same back home.  Maybe if I’m lucky, I will be able to experience it again sometime in the future.

Our last Halloween group photo of my close friends.  It’s crazy to believe that after five years, we will be out going our separate ways in the summer.

Our last Halloween group photo of my close friends.  It’s crazy to believe that after five years, we will be out going our separate ways in the summer.

Leave a Reply

